Strength & Flexibilty

 

jenn logos FINAL outlined_logo stacked color

I have spent the last three years practicing yoga. At first I did it because it felt good to my body. It wasn’t until about a year later that I realized it did everything for my mind. On the exterior it did encourage strength and flexibility. What I didn’t realize is that it strengthened my mind and allowed me more flexibility in my thoughts than I had ever considered. That is what I need as a mother. I need strength to get through trying days and the flexibility to know that with children your plans do not always go how you would’ve liked. You know? Those days when you are in a rush to get to an appointment and your kid has a poopsplosion. The days when you are expecting company and your house is a wreck and your hair is muddled with spit-up. The days when you just wanted a quick shower alone but there are fingers grabbing underneath the door. In hindsight, none of us would change this. In the now we just want a minute of peace.

Yoga has become such a tool in my parenting arsenal because I can be gentle with my thoughts-to myself and to my children. Yoga may not be for everyone but everyone needs something they can do for themselves.

Get out and run, get your nails done, sing, dance, play in the rain, ride a bike. Do something for you. I used to think my kids would whither away if I wasn’t within ear shot. I was wrong and I promise they will be okay.

“Rest and self-care are so important. When you take time to replenish your spirit it allows you to serve others from the overflow. You cannot serve from an empty vessel.” -Eleanor Brownn

This is the example I want to set for my children. If they choose to have children I don’t want them to lose themselves. So many of us feel exactly that. We feel like though motherhood may be rich and fulfilling we have lost ourselves.

We deserve to love ourselves. Our children will thank us.

Namaste. The divine light in me honors the divine light in you.

 

Love & Light,

Jenn Gladish

yoga

 

Leave a Reply

