It’s okay to not be okay.

No one can fully understand your situation. It is okay to not be okay.
We always try to keep it all together all the time no matter what comes our way but why? Why do we feel like we can’t have a moment to break down when no one can understand? We should and we owe it to ourselves.

Moms are made to feel like we have to have a pristine home, healthy meal choices, well-behaved kids and a smile plastered on our faces all the time. Working moms work too much and stay-at-home moms don’t do enough. Mom shouldn’t be the main bread winner and dad shouldn’t stay at home. Whose kid is out of diapers first, who walks first, who can count to ten, who uses proper manners and so many other things are made to be a competition.

THIS IS HORSE SHIT. These competitions and judgments are good for no one when we all long for something the other has. Stay-at-home moms want to be able to work outside the home some days. Working moms wish they could be home more. None of us really have it together. Hell, I’m trying to write and my three year old just fell off of her bike in the house. I said it. My kid is doing one of those weird things that isn’t “acceptable” and we all let our kids do things that we wouldn’t dare post on social media. And it was hilarious…

It is okay not to be the picture perfect mom (or dad) 24/7 because none of us are no matter how we portray ourselves on the internet. Try as we might, life is NOT a Pinterest board. Babies cry. Toddlers scream. Kids argue. Spouses drive us nuts. What we seem to forget in our fairy tale facades is that all that really matters is love. It is okay that not everything is perfect. It is okay to already want bedtime to come at 8 AM. It is okay to tell your friends the truth.

Now, I’m not saying that everyone is living a lie. I have people tell me sometimes that they don’t know how I do it or that they feel like my 3 year old is incredibly well behaved and I’ll admit, she is pretty well-behaved. However, she DOES act up, have temper tantrums and she does stuff that makes me want to pull my hair out. Those things just don’t make it to the internet. I PROMISE you that one of these twins is going to be a spit fire and give me one hell of a run for my money. I also promise that I will share those woes too. You’re doing awesome and it is okay to not be okay all the time. jenn logos FINAL outlined_logo stacked color

 

 

Leave a Reply

